Alecia Lawrence

Why were you interested in First Tee? Golf has been a part of virtually my entire life, so the opportunity to use golf as a way to impact children of the next generation through intentional and proven curriculum drew me to this chapter. Moreover the opportunity to engage with board members, supporters, parents and participants all in the same day is something that re-energizes me every day. Additionally, the opportunity for us to grow our reach in the community was a huge draw to this position specifically. We have such an amazing story to tell about the impact we make in the lives of children from a wide variety of backgrounds. I love our commitment to giving every child in Greater Cincinnati and Northern Kentucky the opportunity to participate and be shaped by our programs.

What is your background? I’m originally from Williamstown, KY and I played golf at NKU from 2004-2008. I had the chance to go to grad school at Ohio University for an MBA and Masters in Sports Administration. I spent about seven years in College Athletics (Northern Kentucky and Xavier), specifically in development where I had the opportunity to fundraise so that student-athletes could have a great experience. Now, I have that opportunity to use those experiences in our efforts at First Tee GCNKY . 

What is your favorite part about First Tee? There is nothing more rewarding than when a child flips the switch from parents bringing them to class to “catching the bug” and getting excited to come to programs. Our goal through the early stages of the program is to create curiosity for learning through the sport, so my favorite part about First Tee is the curriculum. It’s truly the secret sauce and what truly shapes children who join our program. We teach them such critical life skills that are specific to their cognitive development at various ages and their progression through the game- I love seeing the participants grow up and graduate equipped to tackle life! 

If you weren’t working at First Tee, what would you be doing? OR When you were little, what did you want to be when you grew up?   When I was little, I wanted to be a Special Education teacher before I decided I want to take a path down the road of the Sports Industry. 

Where would you like to travel? In the US, anywhere we can be outside and hike! We haven’t been to the National Parks out west, so we are excited to go to Park City, Utah for our Honeymoon in the fall. We have much more travelling out west on our bucket list! Next time I go to Europe, we want to go to Italy and to the Swiss Alps!

Tell us about your family.  My husband, Brian, and I got married in 2020. We love to go hiking and spend time outside with our dog, Larkin. I also can’t wait for my Niece to become a First Tee participant! We’ve got about four more years before she does, but we’re trying to start her early!